this post was submitted on 21 Jan 2025
202 points (99.5% liked)

Futurology

1981 readers
127 users here now

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] TheTechnician27@lemmy.world 5 points 2 weeks ago* (last edited 2 weeks ago)

This is essentially correct. Vitamin capsules are generally made from gelatin. Vegan ones are generally made from tapioca starch, glycerol, agar, etc. The idea that vitamin capsules are derived from hydrocarbons is probably just HMPC (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, where the hydroxypropylation is done with propylene oxide), which seems rare compared to gelatin.