this post was submitted on 04 Oct 2025
264 points (96.2% liked)

RPGMemes

14129 readers
1063 users here now

Humor, jokes, memes about TTRPGs

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
 
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] Jeeve65@ttrpg.network 90 points 3 weeks ago* (last edited 3 weeks ago) (6 children)

If you look up the definition for an Object, it specifies that it is "a nonliving, distinct thing" — such as a corpse.

However, the definition of Creature does not say it must be living. So, a corpse is both a creature and an object.

There are even creatures that have never been living — such as constructs — and thus are also objects.

[–] Archpawn@lemmy.world 26 points 3 weeks ago (3 children)

There's no rule that says dead creatures can't take action. You'll usually become Unconscious first, but instant death effects including massive damage bypass that. So you can just keep playing.

This was clearer in 3.5, where it actually had an entry for the Dead condition which did not say you couldn't take actions.

[–] stingpie@lemmy.world 10 points 3 weeks ago (1 children)

There's no rule saying a dog can't play!

[–] Archpawn@lemmy.world 6 points 3 weeks ago

Dogs aren't a playable race so they can't have class levels. But there is no rule saying dogs can't learn languages. And they can be Sidekicks, but that's more a rule specifically designed to allow them to play. There's also no rule saying they can't wield weapons. One-handed and two-handed weapons both require hands to use, but there aren't actually any weapons listed as one-handed.

load more comments (1 replies)
load more comments (3 replies)